BAFTA TV Awards Winners

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts has announced the winners of this evening’s Virgin TV British Academy Television Awards, celebrating and rewarding the very best programmes and performances of 2016.
There were two awards for Damilola, Our Loved Boy, with first-time winner Wunmi Mosaku receiving the BAFTA for Supporting Actress. The true-crime drama, written by Levi David Addai, which retells the story of Damilola Taylor’s tragic murder and his family’s fight for justice, also received the award for Single Drama.
In the Leading Actress category, Sarah Lancashire won the BAFTA for her performance in Happy Valley. The West Yorkshire drama also won a second BAFTA for Drama Series, adding to the BAFTA that writer Sally Wainwright won at the British Academy Television Craft Awards last month.
Adeel Akhtar won the BAFTA for Leading Actor for his portrayal of a single father juggling the pressures of a community where honour means everything, for one-off drama Murdered by My Father.
In Supporting Actor, Tom Hollander took the BAFTA for his performance as Lance ‘Corky’ Corkoran in The Night Manager while National Treasure fought off the competition to win in Mini Series.
Phoebe Waller-Bridge won in the Female Performance in a Comedy Programme category for Fleabag. Steve Coogan won Male Performance in a Comedy Programme for Alan Partridge’s Scissored Isle, the sixth BAFTA of his career. Meanwhile, the mockumentary series that follows pirate radio station Kurupt FM in west London, People Just Do Nothing, triumphed in Scripted Comedy.
In the International category the BAFTA was awarded to The People v OJ Simpson: American Crime Story, the dramatisation of the infamous OJ Simpson murder trial.
The BAFTA for Soap & Continuing Drama, which recognises the exceptional talent required to deliver stories that hold an audience over days, weeks and months, was awarded to Emmerdale for the second time.
The BAFTA for Entertainment Performance was presented to Michael McIntyre for Michael McIntyre’s Big Show, while the award for Entertainment Programme went to Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway, the programme’s third BAFTA in this category to date. Charlie Brooker’s 2016 Wipe won for Comedy & Comedy Entertainment Programme.
The BAFTA for Reality & Constructed Factual was won by Muslims Like Us, while the long-running series Who Do You Think You Are? took the BAFTA in Features.
The award for News Coverage went to Victoria Derbyshire: Footballers’ Abuse, and Teenage Prison Abuse Exposed (Panorama) received the BAFTA for Current Affairs.
Exodus: Our Journey to Europe, which revealed the gruelling journeys of people smuggling themselves into Europe, received the BAFTA for Factual Series. Hillsborough secured the BAFTA for Single Documentary, while the BAFTA for Specialist Factual went to Planet Earth II, which was also awarded two BAFTAs at the recent British Academy Television Craft Awards.
The Open took home the BAFTA for Sport, while the award for Live Event was presented to The Queen’s 90th Birthday Celebration.
The Special Award was presented to Nick Fraser, one of Britain’s leading figures in the documentary field, in recognition of his outstanding creative contribution to television throughout a career that saw him launch and grow BBC’s Storyville strand and fund and develop hundreds of award-winning documentaries. His work includes India’s Daughter, Man on Wire, Notes on Blindness, Project Nim and Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer.
The Fellowship, the highest accolade the Academy bestows, was presented to Joanna Lumley. With a career spanning 40 years, she has become one of the most acclaimed and distinctive performers in British television. Previous BAFTA recognition of Lumley’s work includes six BAFTA nominations, and awards for Comedy Performance (1995) and Light Entertainment Performance (1993) for Absolutely Fabulous. In 2000, she received the Special Award for The Avengers.
The Virgin TV’s Must-See Moment, the only award voted for by the public, was won by Planet Earth II: Snakes vs Iguana Chase.
The ceremony was hosted by Sue Perkins at the Royal Festival Hall, London, where presenters included Sean Bean, Kim Cattrall, Joan Collins, Rob Delaney, Anna Friel, Cuba Gooding Jr., David Haye, Adam Hills, Suranne Jones, James Nesbitt, Thandie Newton, Jennifer Saunders, Louis Theroux and Ed Westwick.
Leave A Comment