Oscar Nominations List 2015

Full official List of nominations for this year’s Academy Awards, which take place at the Dolby theatre in Hollywood on 22 February. As expected The Theory of Everything, Birdman, The Imitation Game, The Grand Budapest Hotel and Boyhood lead the way alongside a few surprises. 

Best Picture

American Sniper



The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game


The Theory of Everything



Best Director

Alejandro González Iñárritu – Birdman

Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Bennett Miller – Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Morten Tyldum – The Imitation Game


Best Actor

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher

Bradley Cooper – American Sniper

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

Michael Keaton – Birdman

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything


Best Actress

Marion Cotillard- Two Days, One Night

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything

Julianne Moore – Still Alice

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon – Wild


Best Supporting Actor

Robert Duvall – The Judge

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood

Edward Norton – Birdman

Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

JK Simmons – Whiplash


Best supporting actress

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Laura Dern – Wild

Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game

Emma Stone – Birdman

Meryl Streep – Into the Woods


Best original screenplay

Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo – Birdman

Richard Linklater – Boyhood

E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman -Foxcatcher

Wes Anderson & Hugo Guinness – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Dan Gilroy – Nightcrawler


Best adapted screenplay

Jason Hall – American Sniper

Graham Moore – The Imitation Game

Paul Thomas Anderson – Inherent Vice

Anthony McCarten – The Theory of Everything

Damien Chazelle – Whiplash


Best foreign film





Wild Tales


Best documentary


Finding Vivian Maier

Last Days in Vietnam

Salt of the Earth



Best animation

Big Hero 6

The Boxtrolls

How to Train Your Dragon 2

Song of the Sea

The Tale of Princess Kaguya


Best original song

Everything is Awesome – The Lego Movie

Glory – Selma

Grateful – Beyond the Lights

I’m Not Going to Miss You – Glen Campbell … I’ll Be Me

Lost Stars – Begin Again


Best documentary short

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1


Our Curse

The Reaper

White Earth


Best cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki – Birdman

Robert Yeoman – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski – Ida

Dick Pope – Mr Turner

Roger Deakins – Unbroken


Best editing

Joel Cox and Gary D. Roach – American Sniper

Sandra Adair – Boyhood

Barney Pilling – The Grand Budapest Hotel

William Goldenberg – The Imitation Game

Tom Cross – Whiplash


Best sound editing

Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman – American Sniper

Martin Hernández and Aaron Glascock – Birdman

Brent Burge and Jason Canovas – The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Richard King – Interstellar

Becky Sullivan and Andrew DeCristofaro – Unbroken


Best sound mixing

John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Walt Martin – American Sniper

Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and Thomas Varga – Birdman

Gary A. Rizzo, Gregg Landaker and Mark Weingarten – Interstellar

Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño and David Lee – Unbroken

Craig Mann, Ben Wilkins and Thomas Curley – Whiplash


Best make up and hair

Bill Corso and Dennis Liddiard – Foxcatcher

Frances Hannon and Mark Coulier – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou and David White – Guardians of the Galaxy


Best original score

Alexandre Desplat – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game

Hans Zimmer – Interstellar

Jóhann Jóhannsson – Mr Turner

Gary Yershon – The Theory of Everything


Best production design

Adam Stockhausen and Anna Pinnock – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Maria Djurkovic and Tatiana Macdonald – The Imitation Game

Nathan Crowley and Gary Fettis – Interstellar

Dennis Gassner and Anna Pinnock – Into the Woods

Suzie Davies and Charlotte Watts – Mr Turner


Best visual effects

Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Bryan Grill and Dan Sudick – Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett and Erik Winquist – Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Stephane Ceretti, Nicolas Aithadi, Jonathan Fawkner and Paul Corbould – Guardians of the Galaxy

Paul Franklin, Andrew Lockley, Ian Hunter and Scott Fisher – Interstellar

Richard Stammers, Lou Pecora, Tim Crosbie and Cameron Waldbauer – X-Men: Days of Future Past


Best costume design

Milena Canonero – The Grand Budapest Hotel

Mark Bridges – Inherent Vice

Colleen Atwood – Into the Woods

Anna B. Sheppard and Jane Clive – Maleficent

Jacqueline Durran – Mr Turner


Best short film (animated)

The Bigger Picture

The Dam Keeper


Me and My Moulton

A Single Life


Best short


Boogaloo and Graham

Butter Lamp


The Phone Call

Leave A Comment