British Comedy Awards 2013 Winners Announced

This year’s British Comedy Awards, sponsored by Foster’s, were hosted live tonight by Jonathan Ross, celebrating an amazing year in British comedy.

This evening’s awards saw Fresh Meat’s Jack Whitehall win Best TV Comedy Actor and Miranda Hart reclaim the title of Best TV Comedy Actress which she last won in 2011. Chat show supremos Alan Carr and Graham Norton shared the spoils with Best New Comedy Entertainment Programme won by Norton while Chatty Man Carr won Best Comedy Entertainment Personality , an accolade which comes hot on the heels of the channel 4 show’s BAFTA win earlier this year.

Lee Mack celebrated a double win, taking home Best Male TV Comic for the second year running and seeing BBC One’s Would I Lie To You, which he co-hosts with David Mitchell, win Best Comedy Panel Show. Meanwhile, Nina Conti won her first British Comedy Award, taking home Best Female TV Comic for her performance on Live At The Apollo.

The Last Leg’s host Adam Hills won Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist while BBC Four’s Getting On, created by Jo Brand, Vicki Pepperdine and Joanna Scanlan won Best Sitcom. Paul Whitehouse also had a good night – not only awarded The Writer’s Guild of Great Britain Award but he and long-time collaborator Harry Enfield once again took home the prize for Best Sketch Show for Harry & Paul (an award they last won in 2009).

As previously announced, Will Ferrell was honoured with the British Comedy International Award as was Steve Coogan for the Outstanding Achievement award. As revealed at the Nominations show last week, ITV2’s Plebs won Best New Comedy Programme .

Leave A Comment