British Independent Film Awards Winners 2012

The Moët British Independent Film Awards took place last Night at Old Billingsgate in central London. Now in its 15th year, the Awards were created in 1998 by Raindance and set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded British filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote British films and filmmaking to a wider public.

This year’s star studded event was hosted by actor James Nesbitt, soon to be seen as Bofur the Dwarf in The Hobbit An Unexpected Journey. The audience was packed with familiar faces and stellar talent including Tom Hiddleston, Jarred Harris, Sir Michael Gambon, Jude Law, Elle Fanning, Vanessa Redgrave, Terry Gilliam, Tom Felton and Noomi Rapace.

Below is a full list of this year’s well deserved winners:


Best Director

Director - Peter Strickland for Berberian Sound Studio

The Douglas Hickox Award (Directorial Debut)

Director - Bart Layton for The Imposter

Best Screenplay

Screenwriter - Alice Lowe / Steve Oram / Amy Jump for Sightseers

Best Actress

Actress - Andrea Riseborough for Shadow Dancer

Best Actor

Actor - Toby Jones for Berberian Sound Studio

Best Supporting Actress

Supporting Actress - Olivia Colman for Hyde Park on Hudson

Best Supporting Actor

Actor - Rory Kinnear for Broken

Most Promising Newcomer

Actor - James Floyd for My Brother the Devil

Best Technical Achievement

Sound Design - Joakim Sundström / Stevie Haywood AMPS IPS for Berberian Sound Studio

The Richard Harris Award

Michael Gambon

The Variety Award

Jude Law

The Special Jury Prize

Sandra Hebron

Best Documentary

The Imposter

Best Achievement In Production

Berberian Sound Studio

Best Short


The Raindance Award


Best International Independent Film

The Hunt

Best British Independent Film



Leave A Comment