EE BAFTA Film Awards 2017 Report

At tonight’s EE British Academy Film Awards La La Land was named Best Film, with Damien Chazelle winning Director and Emma Stone receiving the award for Leading ActressLinus Sandgren won for Cinematography and Justin Hurwitz won Original Music.
Casey Affleck won Leading Actor for his role in Manchester by the Sea, which also earned its writer/director Kenneth Lonergan the award for Original ScreenplaySupporting Actor went to Dev Patel for Lion, for which Luke Davies won Adapted Screenplay. The ceremony was hosted for a 12th year by Stephen Fry and held at London’s Royal Albert Hall, and featured performances by Cirque du Soleil and Sheku Kanneh-Mason, winner of the BBC Young Musician 2016.
Supporting Actress went to Viola Davis for her role in Fences. All four actors are first-time BAFTA winners. Outstanding British Film was won by I, Daniel Blake, directed by Ken Loach.
Ava DuVernay’s film, exploring race in the US criminal justice system, 13th, won the award for DocumentaryKubo and the Two Strings took the award for Animated Film, and Film Not in the English Language was won by Hungarian holocaust drama, Son of Saul.
Arrival received the award for SoundHacksaw Ridge won for EditingFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them collected the BAFTA for Production DesignFlorence Foster Jenkins took the award for Make Up and HairJackie won Costume Design and The Jungle Book received the BAFTA for Special Visual Effects.
Writer/director Babak Anvari and producers Emily LeoOliver Roskill and Lucan Tohreceived the award for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer forUnder the Shadow.
Home won the British Short Film award, while the BAFTA for British Short Animation was won by A Love Story. The EE Rising Star Award, voted for by the public went to Tom Holland.
The Special Award for Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema was presented to film distributor and exhibitor Curzon for its work in bringing art house and foreign language cinema to British audiences.
Nathan Lane, Simon Pegg and HRH The Duke of Cambridge, President of BAFTA, presented the Academy’s highest honour, the Fellowship, to writer, director, actor and producer Mel Brooks.
Leave A Comment