Empire Awards Winners 2016

Honouring the best films and entertainment of the past year, the Jameson Empire Awards took place this evening, hosted by David Walliams. The force remained strong for Star Wars: The Force Awakens which received the most awards, including Best Director presented by Vue Entertainment for J.J. Abrams, Best Visual Effects, Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy collected by C-3PO himself, Anthony Daniels, and Best Male and Female Newcomer awards for stars John Boyega and Daisy Ridley, who were both present to accept their trophies.

Three honorary awards were bestowed by Empire magazine: Empire Inspiration presented by Jameson Irish Whiskey; Empire Hero; and Empire Legend. British actor-director Paddy Considine was presented with the Empire Inspiration award by long-time collaborator and friend Shane Meadows, and actor Stanley Tucci was named Empire Hero. Miranda Richardson, currently filming Churchill with Tucci, presented him with the award in recognition of his recent performances in high-profile films including the Hunger Games series and Spotlight. The late Alan Rickman was posthumously named this year’s Empire Legend by Editor in Chief of Empire, Terri White and News Editor, Chris Hewitt who commented on stage:”This is a heartfelt tribute from the Empire staff to an actor who touched us all with his extraordinary career.”

Other stars of the screen honoured at the ceremony included Matt Damon, who was in attendance to receive the Jameson Best Actor award for his performance in The Martian. Director Paul Greengrass, who has recently reunited with Damon on the upcoming Jason Bourne, presented the award to him on stage. Alicia Vikander was crowned Best Actress for The Danish Girl, as announced by Richard E. Grant.

The top film awards of the evening – Best British Film presented by The Hollywood Reporter and Best Film presented by Sky Movies went to Spectreand The Revenant respectively. Director Sam Mendes collected the Best British Film award from Jonathan Ross for Spectre, which also won Best Thriller presented by Corinthia Hotel London. Further awards dedicated to popular genres were Best Horror, which went to The Hallow and was received by director Corin Hardy and actor Joseph Mawle, and Best Comedy presented by Absolute Radio, which was awarded to Spy and collected by actor Peter Serafinowicz from comedian Katherine Ryan.

The award for Best TV Series, presented by Wuaki TV, presented this year for the first time, went to This Is England ’90. Series director and co-writerShane Meadows collected the award alongside cast members Thomas TurgooseJo Hartley and Chanel Cresswell.

Other new awards announced at the end of the ceremony included: Batman: Arkham Knight for Best Game presented by the Forever Hope FoundationInside Out for Best Animation; Amy for Best Documentary; The Big Short for Best Screenplay; and World Of Tomorrow for Best Short Filmpresented by Jameson Irish WhiskeyMad Max: Fury Road triumphed in the newly introduced craft categories, taking four awards in total for: Best Soundtrack; Best Costume Design; Best Make-Up And Hairstyling; and Best Production Design.

Legend remade in 60 seconds was awarded the annual Jameson Empire Done In 60 Seconds short film award, presented to its director Marc Barnes by jury member Corin Hardy. A total of 355 contestants from four countries submitted a 60-second remake of their favourite film to enter this year’s competition. The entries were judged by a panel of film experts including director Corin Hardy, producer Bekki Wray-Rogers, actress Faye Marsay and Paul Keenan, CEO of Bauer Media, owners of Empire magazine. All 2016 entries and finalists are available to watch atwww.jamesonempireDISS.com.

The 21st annual Jameson Empire Awards were once again held at Grosvenor House, a JW Marriott Hotel, in Park Lane in the heart of London’s Mayfair. In attendance were nominees, presenters and other distinguished guests from the entertainment world, including: Matt DamonSam Mendes;Daisy RidleyJohn BoyegaAnthony Daniels; Paul GreengrassMiranda Richardson; Shane Meadows; Paddy Considine; Andy Serkis; Stanley Tucci; Laura Carmichael; Caitlin Moran; Max Irons; Jonathan Ross; Jane Goldman; Richard E. Grant; Thomas Turgoose; Sarah Gavron; Maisie Williams; Amara Karan; Daniel Mays; Craig Roberts; Peter Serafinowicz; Katherine Ryan; Johnny Vegas; Joseph Mawle; Meera Syal and Georgina Campbell

Leave A Comment